Tuesday, May 4, 2010

yudhvir award

By M Roushan Ali

Hyderabad, April 30: Information and Public Relation Minister J Geeta Reddy on Friday said cartoon editors can play an important role in shaping society by educating people to eliminate social evils through their work and not confining their talent to drawing political cartoons.

Addressing a meeting after presenting the prestigious Yudhvir Memorial Award 2010 to Shaikh Subhani, Cartoon Editor with Deccan Chronicle, for his outstanding contribution to cartoon journalism. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 50,000, memento and a citation.

Subhani is the 19th person to receive the annual Yudhvir award and joins the extraordinary league of the likes of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, former PM IK Gujral, former Vice-President of India Krishan Kant, Khushwant Singh and Shyam Banegal among others who were bestowed with this honour earlier.

Showering praises on versatility of Mr Subhani in his profession, Minister J Geetha Reddy said "all these years I have been looking at the cartoons drawn by Subhani and published in Deccan Chronicle. Not a day passes for us Hyderabadis and Secunderabadis without reading Deccan Chronicle and looking at cartoon in the paper. I always used to think who is this Subhani. Today I am sharing the dais with him and I think it is given opportunity," she said and congratulated Subhani.

The minister said the media was crossing "lakshman rekha" in its race for TRP ratings. Media should not allow itself to be regulated by government by crossing its limits. "Media has to draw its own line and play a responsible role,” she said.

Subhani said he saw this award as a recognition for the role of cartoonists in society. Despite too many channels and newspapers with too many issues reducing the attention span of the readers and viewers, cartoons are continuing to draw the attention of readers and viewers.

"A cartoonist, therefore can play a greater contributory and effective role in drawing the attention of public on important but less discussed issues, shape opinions and trigger debates," he said.

Yudhvir Foundation chairman Narendra Luther, secretary Vinay Vir, and trustees Mr Zahid Ali Khan, Dr Muralidhar Gupta and Dr Bajrang Lal participated in the award presentation programme.

No comments:

Post a Comment